Skip to content

Economical Beauty Tips

May 6, 2011

In my quest to reduce our grocery bill even further, I’ve been looking into new ways to be beautiful at a reasonable price.  Here are a few tricks I’ve learned:

  • Conditioner is great to use in lieu of shaving cream.  It only takes a small amount and I already have some on hand.
  • Cinnamon & honey (a very small amount of both) can be used to make a healthy facial mask.  Massage it on to your face, let it sit for about 10 minutes and then gently wash it off with warm water. 
  • You can prolong the life of your razor by drying it off after your shower and applying a thin layer of petroleum jelly to it.  It keeps the blade from getting dull too fast and also keepts it from rusting.
  • Try cutting your husband’s or children’s hair.  We’ve been doing this for several years now and it really saves money.  I attempted to let my husband cut my hair … needless to say, I won’t be doing that again.  It was probably one of the scariest moments of my life when he grabbed all my hair in a fist and came at it with the scissors.  I’m the only one in our family who still goes to the salon (but I pay less than $20 for my haircut twice a year).
  • Pamper yourself with your own pedis and manis.  We’ve stocked up our supply of fingernail polishes so that we have an assortment from which to choose.  Plus, my daughter and I spend some quality time together giving each other manicures and pedicures.  Do my toenails always look the best?  No … but knowing that my daughter did them is priceless (and she gets better every time).
  • Use petroleum jelly or cold cream to remove makeup.  You can also use baby oil on a cotton ball.
  • Use epsom salts as an exfoliator.  Rub on to your skin after you bathe and rinse off before you get out! It’ll leave your skin soft.
  • Add two cups of epsom salts to your bath plus a few drops of your favorite essential oil and relax in comfort (without spending a fortune).

Let me know if you have any other beauty tips!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Graham Scheidegger permalink
    January 10, 2013 3:39 am

    i usually take some beauty tips from online magazines and also youtube. you can learn a lot from it.`

    Most recent post on our very own blog
    <a href=" http://www.foodsupplemendigest.com/5-htp-dosage/

    • January 10, 2013 1:49 pm

      Thanks for the comment! The internet is a great place to find beauty tips. Hope you have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

