Skip to content

A New Start … A New Journey

January 11, 2011

Over the past few years we have simplified our lifestyle. 

We live in a small house (it’s now almost 1000 square feet) that my husband and his brother & father helped build.  My husband just finished the addition to the house (which brought us closer to 1000 square feet).  It still needs some finishing touches, but that’ll come with money and time. 

We garden and preserve our foods and that which we don’t grow or raise we try to buy from our local dairy or other local farmers.  We still have a long way to go with this, but we’re well on our way. 

We drive old vehicles that need some maintenance but get us from point A to point B pretty reliably.

We don’t really watch TV although we rent movies and such. 

We enjoy a good meal out on the town, but are just as happy at home with a bowl of soup or fried backstrap.

Our children are homeschooled and for the new baby, we’re even using a birthing center this time – no hospitals or epidural.  I’ll actually be able to come home within a few hours after giving birth (that’ll be cool).

We try not to fall for the trappings of the world – a huge house, lots of debt (we’re debt free, even with the baby expenses at this point), new cars, kids in daycare, etc. 

We actually enjoy our simple life and want to simplify even more – our own land with a cow we raise for beef and chickens of our own, etc.  The problem we find is that land prices around here are still through the roof – not to mention the heavy restrictions. Even the foreclosures are ridiculously high.

So, thus begins our new journey.  Our goal over the next few years is to finish putting money away for our emergency fund and then saving cash for land.  Of course, this may happen faster than we think when my husband’s real estate business picks up again.  My guess is we won’t be stay around where we currently live, but may end up farther out – more rural and less expensive.

Join us on our journey as we look for land and weigh the benefits and pitfalls of each piece (when compared to what we want to do with it)… as well as we continue towards our self-sustainable lifestyle.

And as with all things, all of it is according to God’s plan for us (for without Him none of what we are about to do will be possible).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa permalink
    March 1, 2012 3:01 pm

    Wow! It’s amazing that we are miles apart(we are in Iowa) but you write it like you are inside my head. We have also had several life changing events and my husband and I decided life could be so much better if we just kept it simple. Smaller house, bigger garden, living with essentials and not all the materialistic items… My teenagers would love a bigger home but we know someday they will appreciate all we have taught them, simple can be better! Reading your blog gave me the umph to keep going and smile when my friends say I’m a little eccentric.

    • March 1, 2012 5:05 pm

      Thank you, Melissa! We are trying so hard to make our lives simpler. You may want to check out my website: lonestarhomestead.weebly.com for more details on what we’re doing now. I also have a free newsletter you can subscribe to for homesteading skills. There’s always so much to learn! I still have a long way to go to learn all I want (and do all I want) … but every step starts with a single step. Thank you for your response, Melissa. I enjoy hearing from people and what they’re doing on their own homesteads (whether in the city or out in the country). Take care and God bless.

      In HIS Love,
      Meredith

  2. February 4, 2013 12:44 pm

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but certainly you’re
    going to a famous blogger if you are not already
    😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

