Skip to content

New Year … New Direction + How to Clear up Sinuses

January 2, 2011

2011 is going to be an AWESOME year.  I just know it is.  I’m not sure about you, but I don’t do resolutions.  They never last more than a week or two and are sometimes just outrageously ridiculous (like giving up chocolate).  However, I do like to set goals.

Here are my goals for 2011:

  • Serve the Lord more – do all that I can to glorify His name in all that I do and am.
  • Be a better wife to my husband.  He deserves it.
  • Be a better momma to my children – rejoice in the time together with them and appreciate who they are for they are such unique individuals!
  • Blog more!!!  I created this blog to connect with other people, share my homesteading experiences and learn from others … I need to act on that!!!

I’m sure there are more things I can do, but that is definitely a start.  Right now I need to get a steam treatment going for my son … he’s got bad cedar allergies (as do we all in this week).

By the way, here’s what we do for clearing up coughs and congestion in our home:

  • For coughs:  a steam treatment of Olbas oil (it’s much stronger than Vicks) – just boil some water, take it off the stove and add a few drops of Olbas oil (you can find it in the natural / healthy aisles of your grocery store)
  • For congestion:  saline spray in the nose – we don’t buy the commercial saline sprays, but I make one with about one cup of water and a ¼ teaspoon salt.  Mix together and you can either use a neti pot or the medicine syringes you get from the pharmacy for liquid antibiotics.  You’ll want to tip the head back and to the side (slightly) so that the saline solution runs through one nostril out the other side.  I know.  I know.  It sounds disgusting but it works.  Try this several times a day to clear up sinuses.
  • In general: 
    • Rub Vicks on the back, chest and under the nose at bedtime.  PLUS, rub some on the souls of your feet and then put socks on … it really helps keep the coughs at bay during the night.
    • Eat local honey – the pollen that the bees gather from the plants in your area help combat allergies and sinuses – it’s true!!
    • When my children’s cough sounds like it’s getting worse (but not at it’s worst), I put them on an expectorant cough syrup.  It helps to break up the cough and congestion and they cough that nasty stuff up and out of their bodies.  However – if you start Olbas treatments soon enough, sometimes this can help prevent coughs from getting bad.
My disclaimer:  I’m not a doctor, nurse or any other practicing medical person.  I use these home remedies on my own children and family and they work.  In general, they cannot do harm to your family unless your family has an allergic reaction to one of the items listed above.  Also, DO NOT GIVE HONEY TO A CHILD UNDER THE AGE OF ONE.  Consult a physician if you have any concerns.

Email me if you have any questions.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

