Skip to content

Homely

January 29, 2010

I posted my “to do’s” on www.proverbs31sisters.org tonight about hanging our laundry “inside” since it’s raining outside and we don’t have a dryer.   One of my sweet Proverbs 31 Sisters commented on how “homely” that sounded.  I agree and thought, What a great word!!!

I am a homely person.  I don’t really like to run errands or get out of the house too much, but yet I find myself running errands, going to work, etc.  I LOVE being at home and that qualifies me as a “homely” person.  Where else can I “home”school my children (in our pajamas no less), catch up on my reading (in my bed, under the covers), cuddle with my children, spend time with my family and enjoy these luxuries in  relaxed, comfortable atmosphere – MY HOME!!

Being home is not a bad thing.  When I have to go into town (which is 15 minutes away), I miss out on getting things done around home, like laundry, dishes, cleaning, cooking, baking, organizing, schooling, etc.  I really enjoy doing these things as a “home”maker.  It helps our home run smoothly and efficiently.  It makes our home feel “homier” and I enjoy knowing that my husband comes home to a clean home with supper on the table.  Yes, it sounds old-fashioned, but I like being old-fashioned.  It’s really not a bad thing.  My husband enjoys it and that makes me happy.

Now, after being home all week, I do like to get out and do something fun on the weekends … but I LOVE coming home again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. lisa permalink
    March 10, 2010 4:27 pm

    Well said, Mer. Simply and thoughtful place into wonderful words of life……

    ~lisa

Leave a Reply

