Skip to content

Did you have a Merry Christmas?

December 26, 2009

My Handsome Bubba

We had a wonderful Christmas, better than I can remember.  It was a slow-paced, truly enjoyable, beautiful day.

On Christmas Eve we attended the 3:00 church service only to come out of the service to blizzard-like conditions.  The wind was 30 mph and snow was flying about in crazy swirling patterns.  We NEVER, EVER, have snow in Central Texas in December … ever!!  We’ve had snow two times this month alone (it never accumulated) but it SNOWED ON CHRISTMAS EVE!  It was a beautiful reminder that God can do anything … even make it snow in Texas on Christmas Eve.  It was awesome!  I never saw so many people milling outside of church … with their tongues hanging out trying to catch snowflakes.

Sweetie & her Quilt & Matching Pillow

We spent Christmas Eve at my in-laws and had a wonderful meal of ham sandwiches (very easy to prepare).  Lauren made her very own “from scratch” rolls to take that night.  They were mighty scrumptious with glazed ham.

Christmas Day was even better … I got a sewing machine!!!  I’ll now be able to make awesome gifts, make more quilts and do some of the things that I’ve always wanted to try but have never had time to do by hand.  I’m very excited and I can’t wait to start … I just need some thread and I’m ready to start creating handmade masterpieces.  Yeah!

Hubby & His Traps

I bought my sweet hubby his very own set of traps.  He used to run a trapline when he was in his early teens.  In the event that times get tough and food is hard to come by, we may be using these again.

My sweet daugther was surprised to find her finished quilt (it took me four years to finish) under the tree and my son LOVED the military books we got…along with the extra money for his beekeeping endeavor we’re starting this spring.

All in all, it was a wonderful day.  We spent the day with Johnny’s family and ate steaks, talked and relaxed all day.  We ended the day singing “Happy Birthday” to Jesus while the kids blew out the candles on the cake we made. 

I hope y’all had a blessed day as well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

