Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving!

November 26, 2009

Apple Pie

We’re spending the day at my in-laws home and I’m looking forward to her cooking.  She is an amazing cook!  And what’s better is that she puts all her love into it.  Our typical Thanksgiving dinner includes turkey, dressin’, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, corn, green beans, rolls and lots of pies.  Everything is made from scratch – oh, did I mention the gravy?  Yummy!!!!

Texas Chocolate Pie

Our contribution this year are two pies, the paper goods (so there’s less washing dishes) and cokes.  I made an Apple Pie and a Chocolate Pie.  Why the Texas shapes?  Well, my pie crust expanded and shrunk and looked just plain awful, so with the extra pie dough, I thought that I could make some little leaves or something “Thanksgivingy”.  But alas, I didn’t have any fall cookie cutters … but I did find the Texas and a boot!  Voila!  A Texas Chocolate Pie.  What could be better than that from the Lone Star state?!

Have a truly blessed and wonderful Thanksgiving.  May God be with you all.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lisa permalink
    November 28, 2009 1:59 pm

    Hey Mer,

    Just had to wish you good luck on your blog. Saw the County magazine (see below). Seems like I use to get something of that sort many years back that my mom would send to me but did not appreciate it. Well, I am so glad you read it and will subscribe to it now! Sad about the one homestead magazine going away. But fond memories will remain and one of the fondest will be finding you!

    ~lisa

    • November 28, 2009 2:04 pm

      Good morning, Lisa! Thanks for stopping by! I’m sad, too, about New Harvest Homestead going away. I can understand why Lisa’s stopping, but I’ll sure miss all the good recipes and tips from the other readers/writers. I hope you enjoy the rest of the Thanksgiving holiday!

      God bless,
      Meredith

Leave a Reply

