Skip to content

Apple Pie Filling & an 8th Birthday

November 22, 2009

My Little Cowgirl

It’s been a busy week (and it’s not even the week of Thanksgiving!).  My sweet daughter, Lauren, turned 8 this past week.  We celebrated with cake and ice cream and a day off of school (every child’s dream!). 

On the downside, my son is sick with allergies.  Cedar fever is high right now and he’s feeling the affects of it.  Hopefully he’ll feel better by Thanksgiving.

I bought another 40 pounds of apples this week and made 5 quarts of Apple Pie Filling.  It’s pretty easy and didn’t take long.  I thought I’d used a ton of apples, but I still have a full box.  I’ll be canning more this week.  And, I’ve taken some of our older apples, peeled them, soaked them in a solution of water and lemon juice (to prevent browning).  I then drain them, put them on the dehydrator trays and sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar.  I keep them in the dehydrator for about 12 hours.  I’m on my second batch of dehydrated apples.  It’s been a busy weekend!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

