Skip to content

Garden 2010

November 11, 2009

I know…I know – the gardening season has pretty much just ended (although there are still some items in our fall garden).  But, I’m already planning for our garden next year.  I love our garden! 

I’ve already been eyeing the peat pots at Lowe’s and dreaming of all the little sweet plants that will be growing next year.  God willing we’ll have a lot more rain than this year (we had 60+ days of 100 degree heat and a nasty drought to top it off).  But, we’re supposed to be in “el nino” and should have more rain over the next year.  Yeah!

Anyway, my sweet hubby brought home 3 huge (and one not so huge) pots.  I now picture 2 of them full of potatoes, a third full of onions and possibly carrots in the smaller one.  I can’t wait!!!  We can start planting potatoes here in February.  That’s only 3 months away. 

I’ve also asked my hubby for Mel Bartholomew’s book All New Square Foot Gardening.  I think we’ll be able to grow a lot more produce (in a much easier way to keep it weeded, etc.).  If you haven’t heard of square foot gardening, here’s a link to Mel’s website on How to Square Foot Garden.  It’s very simple and the results look really good. 

I can’t wait to try this out!

No comments yet

Leave a comment